stardate: now
Sep. 27th, 2011 01:51 amHmm. Feel compelled to post, but have not much to report! Haven't been to the gym much at all. My back has been pretty sore, which I've used as a convenient excuse. It's also the reason I haven't been using my CPAP machine. To use it I need to sleep either on my side or my back, and both positions have been causing me pain. On the other hand, I'm not doing much to solve my back pain either, so I am basically just marking time doing not much at all, health-wise.
On the other other hand, I've still been eating better. Still tracking on LoseIt!, still staying under my daily allotments, still losing weight. I'm at the 40 pound mark since the spring, 30 pounds since July. I only lost about three pounds this month, which was a little discouraging, but I am still thinking of it as progress since it's going in the right direction.
Been a little down this last week. My forgetfulness is bugging me. The Red Sox and their giant spectacular collapse is bugging me. My aforementioned slow-motion weight loss is bugging me. Living with Brian has been fine, except I still get sad, so that's bugging me too. I am a lot more reactionary at work, lately; normally I am filtered, and lately I am not. I watched that happen to my coworker when she went through a divorce, and now here I am, trotting right along behind her. Stress is very interesting.
Did a few fun things: Went with Mom to visit my aunt and to diagnose and/or fix her elderly computer. Installed a couple of new CD drives, then determined she really needs to buy a new computer since hers was 11 years old (!). I will set it up for her once it arrives.
Saw "Contagion" — totally my kind of movie. Disease of the week! Gives me scary survivalist fantasies again. Awesome.
Went to a play with P last week — not the best thing I've ever seen, honestly. Could very well be in the running for maybe the worst thing I've seen, actually! The performers were very good (most of them, anyway) but there's only so much you can do with maudlin, unedited drivel.
Watched Doctor Who and enjoyed this week's ep. Love Craig. Why can't Craig be the new companion? He's almost as good as the panda Patrick proposed (there needs to be six-year-old twin British schoolgirls along with the panda, of course! "The panda just peed on the floor, Doctor! And now he's eating the sofa!" THAT would be some excellent television right there).
Watched some bad baseball this weekend. While being stressed about the game, did a lot of unnecessary cleaning. I've taken some Metafilter advice to heart, all about how to get through stress or heartbreak or whatever: clean the bathroom.
"You can take advantage of your time in pain by doing something that would have hurt a LOT before, but pales in comparison to what you're feeling now.
I was in a long distance relationship for a year or two, and there were a lot of goodbyes, and we couldn't afford much phone time, so there was a lot of loneliness and worrying about how to keep the relationship alive. During a particularly mopey period, my roommate said "You know what you could do? Clean the bathroom." I said "that won't make me feel better." She said "It won't make you feel worse, and we'll have a clean bathroom." Whenever it looks bleakest, I clean the bathroom."
So I've been kind of throwing myself into cleaning, more than I usually do. I realized this evening that, if asked, I could lay hands on pretty much any item that I own within seconds. I have vacuumed my furniture. I am organized and tidy. Which is weird. But hey! Productive. (please note: that was not my posting on mefi, either the answer OR the original question!)
My next project is my lifetime of paper. Starting that one this week. Sigh.
( 2011 books list updated within )
Posted via LiveJournal app for iPhone.